Sanjay Subrahmanyan’s Concert

Pakkala Ramdas: Violin
Neyveli Venkatesh: Mridangam

1. Vande mataram – Kedaram
2. Siva loka – Mayamalava Gowlai
3. AttharuNam abhayam – Bhairavi
4. Sri venugopala – Durbar
5. Pullum silambin – Sankarabharanam
6. Ika param – Simhendra madhyamam
7. Tiruvadi Charanam – Kambhoji
8. Chinnanchiru kiLiye – Ragamalika
9. Vettai veLi thannil – mix of Harikambhoji and Karaharapriya (Came to know the raagam from
10. Tillana – Dwijavanti
11. Teruvinil – Surutti

Last Monday On June 24th, I went to Sanjay’s concert. It was an all-Tamil songs concert. Sanjay started the concert with a beautiful piece in Kedaram, Vande Mataram. The Simhendra Madhyamam alapana, followed by the song Ika param for which he put both nearaval and swarams at the line ‘Guha saravana sivabala’ lasted some 30-minutes! If this gave the satisfaction to any listener that he/she had heard such an excellent rendition of a song, the Kambhoji main piece that followed left one asking for more! 🙂 Bhairavi and Darbar were the other raagas for which he sang alapana.

I think this is the third or fourth time I am hearing Sanjay sing a Kambhoji alapana in the last 5-6 months. Every time his alapana has left me asking for more! I still remember his Kambhoji alapana during the season at Sivagami Pethachi Auditorium! It was awesome! For the Kambhoji song, ‘Tiruvadi charanam’, he did the neraval at the line, ‘adutthu vandha ennai thaLLalaagadhu ara hara endru sonnaalum poadhaadho’ (hope the words are correct!). It was nice to hear a main-piece with both neraval and swarams sung by Sanjay after a long time.

The last time I heard Sanjay sing Chinnanchiru kiLiye was at the TV telecast of Jaya TV Margazhi Mahotsavam some 3 years back! That too those channel folks had cut the song exactly at the point when the part of the song in Nilambari raagam had started. 🙁 Hearing the song fully in this concert made my day! 🙂 It was nice hearing the Tillana in one of my favourite raagas, Dwijavanti.

By the way, I am now starting for T.M.Krishna’s concert. 😀 After a long time, a Sanjay’s concert and a TMK’s concert is happening within a span of ten days. Yippee! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sanjay Subrahmanyan’s Concert

  1. Sathej

    Yes,a nice concert. Simmendramadhyamam was so detailed. Kambhoji was really nice. I don’t think something can be a ‘mix’ of two Ragams.Was it Harikambhoji and Kharaharapriya(I saw that too on Rasikas)-well debatable!

  2. Sathej

    And Dwijavanthi Thillana was nice too – one of my favourite Ragams as well.And special mention of the violin-have never heard him before.But he typified Lalgudi Bani so well – glimpses of the legend here and there. By the way,the kutcheri was on a Sunday!

  3. Rukesh

    Hi Aparna,

    I wonder that you get time enjoy the concerts in week days, writing blogs. Really i worry looking at myself that i leave office only after 8pm.

    Rukesh D

  4. Aparna

    Yeah. anyway it didn’t appear like Harikambhoji or Karaharapriya to me. I think I have heard the violinist before. Yes he played really well.
    Sunday? Oops! Yes! Changed it now!

    I owe it to something called luck that is giving me time to do all these 🙂

  5. Sai Prasad Viswanathan

    Sanjay sir’s sahana and kAmbhojis’ are specials for sure..but then what is not? 🙂 Thiruvadi charanam is a beautiful gopalakrishna bhArathi composition. All tamil songs concert a..sooper :). Missing all these for sure 🙁

  6. Sai Prasad Viswanathan

    totally Aparna..thalaivar rocks!! 🙂 btw..Did i send u shrI panchanAdIsham in sahana sung by sanjay sir? 19 mins of pure bliss. I was just mesmerised by the krithi and thought that it was a thalaivar krithi till i heard “saNutha venkateshwaram” in the last line of the charanam indicating it was Patnam’s composition..Total range nonethless. sending you the mp3 right away..sanjay+sahAna=bliss as u wouldve very evidently realized 🙂

  7. Aparna

    Sanjay+Sahana = bliss. Couldn’t agree with you more on that! 🙂 Thanks a lot for sending me the song. Am listening to it right now. I love it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *